Velveeta Cheese for Bait. Weapon of Choice?

It’s rare when I don’t pack some Velveeta when I go trout fishing.  Why?  It’s one of my weapons of choice against Mr. Trout.  There have been times when Velveeta has outfished everything else in my tackle box.  

I was introduced to Velveeta by my bigtime fisherman uncle who took me decades ago to Corona Lake.  I setup my rig for bait and was digging through my tackle box for bait when he told me, “Put that shit away.  Use this”.  He grinned and handed me a chunk of Velveeta.  WTF? I know what I’m doing.  End of story, we had limit in a couple of hours.  I was like fricken eh!  fricken Velveeta eh!  fricken limit eh!

My fishing buddies used to laugh at me when I used Velveeta.  But, I’ve caught my share of trout at SARL and in the Sierras on it.  No laughing anymore.  They just watch and I love it when I hook up and say, “Fricken Velveeta!”.

The key to using Velveeta is to keep as cold as possible.  As a matter of fact I throw in the freezer in the morning while I get ready and pack it on top of frozen water bottles in the ice chest.

You want to use a generous piece (more chuckles from Ced and Big D) about half the size of a chicken McNugget.  Shape it round, then insert a size 18 (16 for larger trout) treble head first into the cheese.  Then grab your leader a foot up from the hook and tug it until the hook is barely through the cheese.  Barely, because during the cast the hook will move up further towards the middle of the cheese ball.  Gently squeeze the cheese ball to seal where the leader cut into the side of the cheese ball.  Now, cast it smoothly in a high arch (like a worm) to prevent the cheese from flying off.  I keep my leader 20″ – 24″ in length.

You’ll notice that Velveeta turns white in the water and sort of looks like a natural cluster of salmon eggs (turns white in water).  It also milks like salmon egg sacks do.  I believe there’s an instinctive click in the trout’s brain that says, “Caviar!”.  Hope you have good luck with Velveeta and when you hook up – don’t forget to say to your fishing buddies, “Fricken Velveeta!”.

This entry was posted in Trout Bait and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Velveeta Cheese for Bait. Weapon of Choice?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Used it in trout stocked pond in Montana= worked great!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    i went fishing with my friend for trout with trout magnets to see if we could catch some…..these guys came across from us and caught 23 trout off of velveeta cheese….wtf we caught 1 small brown……use velveeta trust me it is the best bait for rainbow trout

  3. Anonymous says:

    how do you keep it from falling off your trouble hook

    • Fishing Thoughts says:

      You have to keep the Velvetta cold. I keep mine in the fridge before I go out and in a zip locked bag in the ice chest. Once velvetta gets warm, it’s impossible to use.

      If you want to be sneaky, make little velvetta pellets and throw them around where you are casting. I’ve noticed in clear lakes the trout swim in circles around the area versus just passing thru. Good luck!

  4. hibitch says:

    try yellow power bait it works rele well

  5. lovvve says:

    wht best for trout?

  6. Anonymous says:

    Ya ! to the Velvetta. My dad would roll it out thin and sprinkle just a little garlic powder, ten make small round balls and freeze. Work Great!

  7. Anonymous says:

    I buy cheese hooks for the kids. Its a trebble hook with a spring around it. The cheese stays on forever!!

  8. Joe Bara says:

    Kraft American slices work just as well.

Leave a Reply

